The Mississippi State Legislature and the governor decide the boundaries of the district maps. The members of a 20-member standing committee called the Mississippi Joint Legislative Redistricting Committee (MJLRC) conduct the bulk of the work that create proposed boundaries. Then, members of the State House and State Senate vote on those proposed boundaries. After the majority of the State House and Senate vote to approve them, the bill is sent to the governor who can reject the boundaries or sign them into law.

Membership of the Joint Committee includes the chairs and co-chairs of the House and Senate election committees as well as two members from each congressional district as appointed by the Speaker and Lieutenant Governor. Note that Lieutenant Governor named Senator Dean Kirby Co-chair of the Joint Committee even though Senator Jeff Tate is the Chair of Senate Elections.

Not sure which district you live in? Find out here.






Rep. Jim Beckett - Co-chair (R) 23 (662) 983-7358 Calhoun, Grenada, Lafayette, Webster

Sen. Dean Kirby - Co-chair (R)

30 (601) 359-4089 Rankin

Rep. Dan Eubanks (R)

25 (662) 374-0035 DeSoto

Rep. Edward Blackmon, Jr. (D)

57 (601) 859-1567 Madison

Rep. Bo Brown (D)

70 (601) 366-4774 Hinds

Rep. Kevin Ford (R)

54 (601) 218-8185 Issaquena, Warren, Yazoo

Rep. Vince Mangold (R)

53 (601) 833-9155 Franklin, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike

Rep. John Read (R)

112 (228) 497-3845 Jackson

Rep. Fred Shanks (R)

60 (601) 540-0041 Rankin

Rep. Cheikh Taylor (D)

38 (662) 617-8125 Clay, Lowndes, Oktibbeha

Rep. Jason White (R)

48 (662) 289-8888 Attala, Carroll, Holmes, Leake

Sen. David Parker

2 (601) 359-4088 DeSoto

Sen. Angela Turner-Ford

16 (601) 359-3237 Clay, Lowndes, Noxubee, Oktibbeha

Sen. Briggs Hopson

23 (601) 359-3250 Issaquena, Warren, Yazoo

Sen. Derrick Simmons

12 (601) 359-2224 Bolivar, Coahoma, Washington

Sen. Josh Harkins

20 (601) 359-2395 Rankin

Sen. Dennis DeBar

43 (601) 359-3221 George, Greene, Wayne

Sen. Brice Wiggins

52 (601) 359-3237 Harrison, Jackson

Sen. Jeff Tate

33 (601) 359-2395 Clarke, Lauderdale

Sen. Hobb Bryan

7 (601)359-2220 Itawamba, Lee, Monroe